Working with young people has always been a major concern for Elīna Garanča. For this reason, she launched her Young Voices Initiative in 2019, in which young singers could win personal coaching from the mezzo-soprano in addition to a sponsorship contribution from co-initiator Raiffeisen NÖ-Wien. The winner of the first ZukunftsStimmen initiative was the Styrian bass-baritone Alexander Grassauer, who now has a permanent engagement at the Gärtnerplatz Theater in Munich and in July 2019 took the hearts of visitors to Göttweig and Kitzbühel by storm alongside Elīna Garanča.

Due to COVID-19, the initiative could not be carried out completely last year, this has now been made up for: yesterday, April 12, the final audition of the 11 most hopeful young talents for ZukunftsStimmen 2021 took place at Palais Niederösterreich in Herrengasse, Vienna. This year's winner is Philipp Schöllhorn. He convinced the jury with the aria "I got plenty o nuttin" from "Porgy and Bess" by George Gershwin. He also wins a valuable financial support from Raiffeisen NÖ-Wien and coaching by Elīna Garanča.

Philipp Schoellhorn

In addition, Philipp Schöllhorn will also perform at the two Klassik Open-Air concerts. Standing together with Elīna Garanča in front of a large audience on the impressive stages is certainly the highlight of the still so young career so far.

Musical guests

In addition to the winner of the ZukunftsStimmen initiative, Elīna Garanča and Karel Mark Chichon have once again invited two musical guests for this summer: Romanian soprano Cellia Costea and Armenian tenor Arsen Soghomonyan will join them on stage. Both artists have won major singing competitions several times and today sing at major opera houses around the world.

Costea Cellia c Vangelis Kyris

Cellia Costea, born in Piatra Neamt/Romania, studied singing at the Academy of Music in Bucharest. She made her debut at the Opera Națională there as Desdemona inOtello.She began her international career at the Stadttheater Klagenfurt as Contessa di Almaviva in Mozart's Le nozze di Figaro. Since then, guest engagements have taken her to the world's great opera houses, including the Royal Opera House in London, the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, the Deutsche Oper in Berlin, the Frankfurt Opera, the Oslo Opera House, De Nationale Opera in Amsterdam, the Opéra municipal de Marseille, the Hanover State Opera, the Arena di Verona, the Greek National Opera in Athens and the Beijing Opera House. Her most important repertoire roles include parts such as Contessa di Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro), Liù (Turandot), Donna Elvira (Don Giovanni), Leonora (Il trovatore), Cio- Cio-San (Madama Butterfly) and Amelia (Un ballo in maschera), as well as the title roles in Tosca and Aida. Since 2012, Cellia Costea has been a soloist of the Greek National Opera in Athens. This year, she received the Grand Prize for Best Artist of the Year from the Association of Greek Theatre and Music Critics, one of numerous international awards.

Arsen Soghomonyan

Arsen Soghomonyan was born in Yerevan, Armenia, and studied singing, including at the conservatory in his hometown. He won singing competitions in Warsaw and Moscow and made his first appearances at the Armenian National Opera. He first appeared as a baritone, singing roles such as Figaro (Il barbiere di Siviglia), Belcore (Lʼelisir dʼamore) and Napoleon (War and Peace) in Moscow. In 2017, he made his tenor debut as Cavaradossi (Tosca) at the Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Music Theaters in Moscow. This was followed by Canio (I Pagliacci) in Mexico and at the Teatro San Carlo in Naples and the title role in Verdi's Otello under Zubin Mehta at the Berlin Philharmonie, with which he also debuted at the Bavarian State Opera in Munich in the 2019/20 season.

Die Arbeit mit jungen Menschen war und ist Elīna Garanča schon immer ein großes Anliegen. Aus diesem Grund startete sie 2019 ihre Nachwuchsinitiative, bei der junge Sängerinnen und Sänger neben einem Förderbeitrag von Mitinitiator Raiffeisen NÖ-Wien auch ein persönliches Coaching durch die Mezzo-Sopranistin gewinnen konnten. Sieger der ersten ZukunftsStimmen-Initiative war der steirische Bass-Bariton Alexander Grassauer, der mittlerweile ein fixes Engagement am Gärtnerplatz Theater in München hat und im Juli 2019 an der Seite von Elīna Garanča die Herzen der Besucher in Göttweig und Kitzbühel im Sturm eroberte.

Bedingt durch COVID-19 konnte die Initiative im letzten Jahr nicht komplett durchgeführt werden, dies wurde nun nachgeholt: Gestern, 12. April, fand das finale Vorsingen der 11 hoffnungsvollsten jungen Talente für ZukunftsStimmen 2021 im Palais Niederösterreich in der Wiener Herrengasse statt. Diesjähriger Sieger ist Philipp Schöllhorn. Er überzeugte die Jury mit der Arie „I got plenty o nuttin“ aus „Porgy and Bess“ von George Gershwin. Auch er gewinnt ein eine wertvolle finanzielle Unterstützung von Raiffeisen NÖ-Wien und ein Coaching durch Elīna Garanča.

Philipp Schoellhorn

Darüber hinaus winken Philipp Schöllhorn auch Auftritte im Rahmen der beiden Klassik Open-Air- Konzerte. Gemeinsam mit Elīna Garanča vor einem großen Publikum auf den beeindruckenden Bühnen zu stehen, ist sicherlich der bisherige Höhepunkt der noch so jungen Karriere.

Musikalische Gäste

Neben dem Sieger der Initiative ZukunftsStimmen haben Elīna Garanča und Karel Mark Chichon auch für diesen Sommer wieder zwei musikalische Gäste eingeladen: Der rumänische Sopran Cellia Costea sowie der armenische Tenor Arsen Soghomonyan werden gemeinsam mit den beiden auf der Bühne stehen. Beide KünstlerInnen haben mehrfach große Gesangswettbewerbe gewonnen und singen heute weltweit an den großen Opernhäusern.

Costea Cellia c Vangelis Kyris

Cellia Costea, geboren in Piatra Neamt/Rumänien, studierte Gesang u. a. an der Musikhochschule in Bukarest. An der dortigen Opera Națională gab sie ihr Debüt als Desdemona inOtello.Ihre internationale Karriere begann sie am Stadttheater Klagenfurt als Contessa di Almaviva in Mozarts Le nozze di Figaro. Seither führten sie Gastengagements weltweit auf die ganz großen Opernbühnen, darunter das Royal Opera House London, die Bayerische Staatsoper München, die Deutsche Oper Berlin, die Oper Frankfurt, das Opernhaus Oslo, De Nationale Opera Amsterdam, die Opéra municipal de Marseille, die Staatsoper Hannover, die Arena di Verona, die Griechische Nationaloper Athen oder das Opernhaus in Peking. Zu ihren wichtigsten Repertoire-Rollen gehören Partien wie die Contessa di Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro), Liù (Turandot), Donna Elvira (Don Giovanni), Leonora (Il trovatore), Cio- Cio-San (Madama Butterfly) und Amelia (Un ballo in maschera) sowie die Titelpartien in Tosca und Aida. Seit 2012 ist Cellia Costea Solistin der Griechischen Nationaloper in Athen. In diesem Jahr erhielt sie vom Verband der griechischen Theater- und Musikkritiker den Großen Preis für die beste Künstlerin des Jahres, eine von zahlreichen internationalen Auszeichnungen.

Arsen Soghomonyan

Arsen Soghomonyan wurde in Eriwan (Armenien) geboren und studierte Gesang, unter anderem am Konservatorium seiner Heimatstadt. Er gewann Gesangswettbewerbe in Warschau und Moskau und hatte erste Auftritte an der armenischen Nationaloper. Zunächst trat er als Bariton auf und sang Partien wie Figaro (Il barbiere di Siviglia), Belcore (Lʼelisir dʼamore) und Napoleon (Krieg und Frieden) in Moskau. 2017 gab er sein Debüt als Tenor als Cavaradossi (Tosca) am Stanislawski- und Nemirowitsch-Dantschenko-Musiktheater in Moskau. Es folgten Canio (I Pagliacci) in Mexiko und am Teatro San Carlo in Neapel und die Titelpartie in Verdis Otello unter Zubin Mehta in der Berliner Philharmonie, mit der er in der Saison 2019/20 auch an der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München debütierte.